30 Years of Human-ness

Having just turned the ripe old age of 30, I’ve come to some conclusions and quite frankly, “I’ve got a lot of problems with you people and now you’re gonna hear about it.”

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.10.09 AM.png

Couldn’t resist a good Festivus reference.  Now I’ll leave behind a few things I’ve learned over my time on this earth.  Hopefully some of it is new to you and if not, I hope it serves as a decent reminder.

  1. Humans are complex.  I’m sure you know that from being in your own mind but when you begin to extrapolate that out to EVERY human being on this planet, you realize how complex things can be.  There are so many thoughts, emotions, feelings, dreams, hopes, and more walking around out there.
  2. Kindness wins (see above).  With all the complexity out there, things can get a bit fiery.  Doing the best to start out with compassion and kindness is as good a first step as any.
  3. Growth is harder than not growing. It takes work to be a better person.  Especially for those like myself who find it more convenient to just let things happen to them.  It’s much harder (yet more rewarding) to be proactive in change than reactive.
  4. It’s important to travel. Get out and go to different places, see different people doing things different from what you do.
  5. Social skills are the best kind of skill. This is an area in which I have struggled with.  I tend to shut off in groups where there are people who I don’t know or am familiar with.  But much like with #3, there is greater reward in connecting than walling off.
  6. Connected-ness is best-edness. Humans are social by nature.  Yes I understand there are different levels of introverts and extroverts but we do tend to thrive when we are connected in some form or fashion to something (an ideal, a cause, company, family, etc).
  7. The amount of energy we pour into our sports teams boggles my mind. Maybe this is just because I root for Cleveland teams (who have given me back very little in return) but it’s so interesting to me the dynamic of fandom.  Watching countless arguments (and taking part in some myself) has only just made me more inquisitive to this aspect of human nature.  If only we put as much energy into growing ourselves…..just don’t count out the Browns in 2022.
  8. It’s crazy what being outside in nature can do for one’s soul. It seems to enable some aspect of primal connectivity to something bigger than oneself.  Not sure there is anything better than breathing clean air, no traffic, no unnecessary noise, just peace.

    Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.52.52 AM.png

    Just a quick shot of Nature in action

  9. Kids have great timing. I’ve been amazed to see the timing that my kids, especially my 2 year has, when it comes to showing me what is important.  Yes they can be stressful, expensive, and messy but DAMN do they hit you in the feels when you need it.  I’m not sure what is better than the moments where my headed is spinning with life’s worries, that my daughter grabs my face softly, looks me in the eyes and tells me in her soft voice that she loves me. Like I said, it’s a swift kick in the feels. The best thing is that her timing is perfect.  It’s crazy to witness the intuition that kids have.  They haven’t been ruined like we adults have.
  10. I still don’t know anything. As much as I like to think I know things, it’s humbling to admit to you that I still don’t know shit.  I think I know things but by the time I come to understand something, the dynamic changes and it becomes something completely different.  Keep an open mind to something because we are too often caged and limited by our own perception.

The dynamic capacity of life and what is has to teach us are infinite.  Keep an open mind, stay kind, put your energy into growth and you’ll get what you want out of life.  It might come in a form differently than what you were looking for when you started out but you’ll find it.

Cheers to all of you out there who are experiencing human-ness in all its different forms and fashions.  I’d love to hear your thoughts of one thing you’ve learned as you’ve gone through life.

2 thoughts on “30 Years of Human-ness

Leave a Reply

